Guild Composers    
Guild History
concert programs
Score Search
Archive Policies
Contact Information
CCG Web Site
Edwin London

Edwin London has served living music throughout his career. He has formed two highly-acclaimed ensembles: Ineluctable Modality, a new music choral ensemble, in 1968, and the award-winning Cleveland Chamber Symphony in 1980. He has earned the Letter of Distinction from the American Music Center. the ASCAP- John S. Edwards Award and the Laurel Leaf Award from the American Composers Alliance.

Born in Philadelphia on March 16, 1929, London began his career as a horn player in both symphony orchestras and the Oscar Pettiford Jazz Band. After graduation from the Oberlin Conservatory (B.M. 1952), he received a doctorate from the University of Iowa (1961). Subsequent teachers have included Luigi Dallapiccola, Darius Milhaud and Gunther Schuller (1956). He taught at Smith College (1960-68), the University of Illinois (1973-83) and the University of California at San Diego (1972-73) before becoming a professor at Cleveland State University in 1978.

As a composer London has received awards from the Guggenheim Foundation (1969), National Endowment for the Arts(1973, 1974, 1979), Fromm Foundation, Ohio Arts Council, ASCAP and Meet the Composer. He received the Cleveland Arts Prize in 1981 and in 1989 was named Individual Artist of the Year by the Ohio Arts Council. He served a term as national chairman of the American Society of University Composers, and co-chaired the Composers Panel of the National Endowment for the Arts.

CCG Archive