Ohio Valley Shakespeare Conference
October 11-13, 2007, The University of Akron
The Ohio Shakespeare Conference has changed its name with the addition of West Virginia's Marshall University to its consortium.

The Ohio Valley Shakespeare Conference

The M. Rick Smith Memorial Graduate Student Essay Prize
The M. Rick Smith Memorial Undergraduate Student Essay Prize

Instituted in memory of Dr. M. Rick Smith of Kent State-Trumbull, these prizes have been established to recognize outstanding work by students presenting their papers at the Ohio Valley Shakespeare Conference. A prize in the amount of $100 will be awarded to both the winning undergraduate and graduate paper. Essays will be judged on their 1) contribution to the scholarly conversation, 2) engagement with secondary sources, 3) clarity of writing and argumentation, and 4) effectiveness as oral presentations.


Those interested in being considered for the Prizes should submit a 300 word abstract to the Ohio Valley Shakespeare Conferences by August 15, 2007. Should the proposal be accepted for presentation at conference, student authors will then be invited to submit their papers, as they are to be presented, to the contest judges by September 10, 2007. Only those students who present their papers at the Ohio Valley Shakespeare Conference will be eligible.

Dr. M. Rick Smith was an active member of the then-Ohio Shakespeare Conference, serving on its governing board and actively involved in organizing more than one of its annual meetings. His devotion to teaching, enthusiasm for Shakespeare studies, and willingness to give of his time and energy helped make the Ohio Valley Shakespeare Conference what it is today.

Click here for a PDF version of this announcement.

      Conference Archives       |       The University of Akron Department of English                 University of Akron